Easy Vegan Berry Ice Cream made with Aquafaba

Veganism is something I’ve had an interest in for a while, but just isn’t practical alongside an allergy to nuts and coconut. The best I’ve managed is four days before I had to give up. Although I can’t commit to it as a lifestyle, I still have an interest in vegan baking, and substitutions in general. Who doesn’t like making tasty treats as many people as possible can enjoy?


One ingredient that has been particularly intriguing me is aquafaba. Aquafaba is the liquid from a can of chickpeas or beans, and has properties similar to egg whites, which make it great for vegan and egg-free recipes. It whisks to stiff peaks and also has bonding qualities, thanks to the combination of carbohydrates and proteins it contains. A common use is meringues, which I’ve attempted and failed beofre, but I wanted to get back of the aquafaba train. I’ve joined an aquafaba recipe Facebook group and been getting daily recipe inspiration. I decided that this  ice cream recipe would be a good place to restart my aquafaba journey.

All you have to do is fold a fruit puree through aquafaba that has been whipped to stiff peaks. Stick it in a tub and freeze for a few hours, no churning or ice cream maker required, and voila! Vegan, dairy-free, egg-free, nut-free ice cream! Its almost too good to be true.The texture is a little strange, as it mealts in your mouth like frozen foam (thanks to the boyfriend for that description). I tested it on friends and no one thought it had a beany taste at all. I used aquafaba from a can of salted chickpeas, because they’re much cheaper to get hold of, and the ice cream didn’t taste salty, although long term I’m not sure all that extra salt is a good idea. 

Now that I’ve had an aquafaba success I’m going to try more complex recipes – nut-free, aquafaba macarons are the goal. I’ll share my progress on Instagram, and post a blog once I’m happy with the result. In the meantime, don’t waste your aquafaba- make berry ice cream!


Recipe: Easy Vegan Berry Ice Cream made with Aquafaba (recipe tweaked from Exceedingly Vegan)

125g aquafaba (drained from a can of chickpeas)

150g raspberries

150g strawberries

100g icing sugar

A big squeeze of lime juice

Method

  1. In a stand mixer with the whisk attachment whisk the aquafaba until it forms stiff peaks, which will be around 15 minutes.
  2. Add the berries to a food processor and blitz to a puree. Add the icing sugar and lime juice and blitz again. Scrape down the side a few times to make sure the whole puree is uniform.
  3. Once the meringue is stiff peaks, fold in half of the puree until the colour is uniform, then fold in the rest. Put into a tub and freeze until set.
Leave a Reply

