Dampfnudel: Great British Bake Off Week 3

Bread week on The Great British Bake Off always makes me painfully aware of my own baking inadequacies. As a general rule, yeast is not my friend.  So the challenge of making Dampfnudel (which did not look particularly appetising) was not exactly filling me with excitement.

side view of buns in a pan

I was being overly negative on both counts. Firstly, recipe is actually quite simple. The dough came together well (with just a quick check from my dough-savvy boyfriend) and for once my proving went well. The cooking was a bit fiddly, mainly because I don’t own a saute pan with a lid. Improvising with a baking tray held down by a heavy casserole dish worked fine.

Top view of buns in a pan

Even more surprisingly, they were delicious! The lemon zest in the dough is fragrant, and the texture is light, springy and just chewy enough to give it some bite, with a caramalised flavour from the base.

There were no plums in the house for the sauce so I improvised with some frozen berries and a cooking apple. All in all, pretty happy! Although I’m not sure I’d make them again. I think this will spur me on to more dough-based adventures in the future.

Split bun with custard and red compote

Recipe: Dampfnudel

Follow the Mary Berry recipe, but use the following for the fruit sauce.

Ingredients

1 cooking apple, peeled and chopped into small pieces

A handful of berries, frozen or not

Method

  1. Put in a pan with a splash of water and put the lid on.
  2. Cook on low until soft and broken down
  3. Optional: blitz and strain if you don’t like seeds
Leave a Reply

