Jaffa Cakes: Great British Bake Off Week 1

The Great British Bake Off is back! And that means that every week I’m going to try and make the technical challenge from the week’s show to test my skills.

2016-08-28 16.53.43-2

Week 1 technical was one of my absolute favorites: Jaffa Cakes. I’ve been know in my time to eat up to 12 in one go, so this was the perfect challenge for me. It also just so happens that I’ve made quite a few batches before, specifically Edd Kimber’s Blood Orange Jaffa Cakes. I even went as far as making a GIANT Jaffa Cake, which was delicious if incredibly hard to cut neatly.

2016-08-28 17.11.41-2

I was pretty confident recreating something that resembled a decent Jaffa, but was completely shocked to see the recipe called for packet jelly! Now I’m not a snob – packet ingredients are often great time savers – but on a show where the whole point is you make things from scratch it seems a little bit off to me. So I used Mary Berry’s recipe for the cake, and Edd Kimber’s for a fresh orange jelly.

2016-08-28 16.55.19-2

They came out pretty well! If anything I over-whisked the eggs and sugar, meaning the cakes could be a little fluffier. They are definitely the best looking Jaffa Cakes I’ve ever made – the chocolate topping has always thwarted me before but my new offset spatula saved the day.

I also don’t have a cutter small enough for jelly so had to make do with the top of my dried thyme. Improvisation saves the day!

I want to see your versions too! Leave a link in the comments or email and share the orange-y goodnesss.

2016-08-28 17.14.32-2

Recipe: Jaffa Cakes (Adapted from Mary Berry and Edd Kimber)

For the sponge (from Mary Berry)

2 large eggs

50g caster sugar

50g self raising flour, sifted

For the Jelly (from Edd Kimber

160ml freshly squeezed orange juice (zest them first use it for another bake, or freeze for another day)
1 tbsp caster sugar (to taste)
2 sheets of gelatine

150-200g chocolate

Method

  1. Make the jelly! Put the gelatin in cold water. Meanwhile, heat the orange juice and sugar until at a simmer. Take off the heat. Squeeze any excess water out of the gelatin, and whisk into the orange juice until dissolved. Pour into a cake tine lined with cling film and stick in the fridge until set. (A few hours)
  2. Pre-heat the oven to 160C (fan) and grease a fairy cake tin.
  3. Whisk the sugar and eggs together until light and at least doubled in size. Carefully fold in the flour – I like to use a whisk to do this.
  4. Put a little of the mix, about 3/4 full in each hole. For me it made than 12, so you might need two tins.
  5. Bake for 7-9, watching carefully. When they spring back, they’re ready. Cool completely.
  6. Melt chocolate in a bain marie, and let cool until its relatively thick (so it doesn’t met the jelly and is easier to spread evenly)
  7. Cut the jelly into circles smaller than the cakes and top with a spoon of chocolate, carefully teasing it out to the edges with an off-set spatula. Or a spoon if you have made skills.
  8. Devour!

 

 

One thought on “Jaffa Cakes: Great British Bake Off Week 1

  1. Pingback: Viennese Whirls: Great British Bake Off Week 2 | Always Add Cinnamon

Leave a Reply

