Lemon Rose Cupcakes and Resolutions

Happy 2016!

I want to start the year by setting some goals for myself for this blog, as all my good intentions for 2015 slid a little! Hopefully by setting them out here I’ll stick to them. Here they are:

  1. Post more. I have tens of blog post which have photos, or a recipe, or a description, but not all three. I’ve spent so many hours wasted taking photos I’m really proud of and then not posting them in time for the season. (Christmas, I’m looking at you) I’m going to make time and aim to post fortnightly.
  2. Practice and improve my photography.  There’s only so many tutorials and tip round-ups you can read before realising that the way to improve is to take more photos. So that’s what I’ll do. (Follow me on Instagram to see how I’m doing with this one)
  3. Don’t sweat the small stuff. If I only published posts I was 100% happy with, I’d never publish anything. The whole point of this blog is to share my baking and have fun, so I’m going to stop taking it all so seriously.

So in the spirit of my resolution, and in sharing some tasty cakes, I want to share some really simple lemon curd filled lemon cupcakes I made for a friend’s birthday in 2015. At this party, a friend of a friend asked if I was the Ruth who had a food blog because their girlfriend had read it and thought it was great! It made me incredibly happy for such a small things. And the cakes went down pretty well too!

These little cakes were mainly an excuse to try piping marbled roses, which had been appearing on my Instagram and Pinterest feeds with more regularity. They went fairly well, but next time I’ll use less food colouring for a more subtle finish. and make sure the colouring goes all the way through the bag, as it started to run out pretty quickly. You could make lemon curd yourself if you’re feeling fancy, but I ran out of time and lemons.

 


Lemon Rose Cupcake Recipe

Ingredients

For the cakes:

3 eggs

An equal weight of self-raising flour, caster sugar and butter

Zest of three lemons

Splash of milk

For the frosting:

250g icing sugar

80g butter, at room temperature

25ml milk mixed with a few drops of vanilla

Yellow gel food colouring

For the filling:

Lemon curd

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 160C.
  2. Cream together butter, sugar and lemon zest until fluffy. Add in eggs one at a time with a little flour to stop the mixture from splitting. Then beat in the flour until just combined. Add enough milk to get the mixture to dropping consistency, where a blob falls off a spoon after a few seconds but the mix isn’t runny.
  3. Fill paper cake cases two-thirds full. I use an ice cream scoop to get them even.
  4. Bake for 18-22 minutes until lightly golden, and a skewer inserted comes out clean.
  5. Leave to cool on rack. Once cool use a cupcake corer (great present, thanks mum!) or knife to cuts small holes in the middle without cutting all the way through. Spoon in enough lemon curd to fill the hole without overflowing.
  6. Make your frosting. In a stand mixer, beat the butter and icing sugar until it looks like very fine breadcrumbs. Then add the milk and beat for up to 10 mins, until light in colour and texture.
  7. Get a piping bag and slip in a big star tip. Take the tube of food colouring and draw 4 lines up the inside of the bag. Spoon in the frosting, trying not to smudge the lines too much.
  8. To frost, start from the middle with the piping bag completely upright close to the cake’s surface and with firm, even pressure pipe in a spiral out to the edges of the cup cake. Repeat until they’re all done!
Leave a Reply

