Great British Bake Off Challenge: Week 2

It’s the second week of The Great British Bake Off Challenge! I’m making the technical challenge each week (last week was Nut free Frosted Walnut cake).

This week’s challenge was biscuits. But not a kind of biscuits I have ever made before. Or heard of before for that matter: Arlettes.

Watching the bakers make them made me nervous. Laminating is not something I have every mastered or even become competent at, but I wanted to give it a good go. Mainly because it leave me hope that one day I’ll be able to make puff pastry from scratch.


Following the recipe closely and being precise with timings helped significantly, and encasing the dough in the butter was fun, if a bit fiddly. One thing I have learnt is that I need to get better at rolling out dough. Getting squares and rectangles is pretty tricky, although since having read this tutorial I’m going to give using a template a go. I liked that this felt like a proper challenge.

I have to say that I found the finished product underwhelming. As my blog name might suggest, I really, really like cinnamon. The problem was that for cinnamon biscuits these didn’t really taste of cinnamon. The overwhelming flavour was butter, which is nice, but I think shortbread is the ideal biscuit showcase for butter. And much, much easier!


Pros: They were very flaky! They layers looked really well defined

Cons: I didn’t roll them thin enough, When I rolled the dough together the last section didn’t stick properly which meant some of the biscuits had little tails.  

Leave a Reply

